Friday, September 28, 2007

T20 World Cup

I am not interested in cricket. Not that I have anything against the game , but somehow was never interested in it.

But nevertheless , I received this forward about 5 times today , couldn't help creating a blog and pasting it here :))

Twenty-20 - World Cup Final Post match presentation interview between Shastri and winning caption Dhoni


In the post-match presentation, Ravi Shastri to Dhoni "Congratulations to you and the whole Indian team for winning this world cup. You guys have produced a great nail baiting show.. and deserves the cup. We welcome you to share the joy with us."

Dhoni "Thanks Ravi, the match was pretty close encounter between two great teams and our guys held the nerve to win the game and cup."

Shastri, "Who was the main reason for this thrilling victory?"

Dhoni, "All us played well but I would say the main reason and man behind this great victory is Ajit Agarkar"

Shocked Shastri..., "Agarkar ? ? .. how come Agarkar... he didn't played in the final"..

Dhoni, "Yeaph.. that's the reason we won this low scoring match.. if he could have bowled in final, Pakistan would have scored the winning runs from his 4 overs...."

Shastri, "ok.. fine, To whom you want to thank for winning this final..."

Dhoni, "The team doctor deserves the credit... he really helped us to prepare for the final..."

Shastri, "Is it? ?.... how the doctor helped to prepare for the final... he is not the coach or physical trainer...Dhoni. . I am getting confusion"

Dhoni, "Ravi... nothing to confuse... he has failed Sehwag in the fitness test according to our game plan and we managed to pick a good playing team.. thus we weigh the doctor's contribution as very high... infact its better than our team effort in the field.. our game tactic worked well"

Shastri, "To whom you want to dedicate this World Cup?"

Dhoni, "The entire team including myself wants to dedicate this cup to Sachin, Dravid and Ganguly..."

Shastri, "I really really appreciate you... its good that you have so much respect to the seniors....and you ....."

Dhoni interrupts.. .. "Ravi.. let me complete... India would have exited in the Group matches if they decided to play in the series... thank god they opted out and we managed to play cricket and won the cup.."

Shastri, "The match was thrilling encounter and was concluded by a single mistake of Misbah.. Isn't it? "

Dhoni, "Yes you are right, after lofting the ball Misbah told me that he has send the ball to where there was no one....but he didn't know that there is a malayali in every corner of the world.... This single mistake has costed the game and won the cup..."

Shastri faints and Dhoni receives the CUP and thats the end of the great Twenty-20 world cup...

Wednesday, September 26, 2007

Blogs !

I guess I havent discovered the complete joys of bloggin yet :)

अब तो हम हिंदी में भी ब्लोग कर सकते हैं ! ऐसे ही ब्लोग करते करते एक दिन हमे यह पता चला के हमारे मनपसंद अभिनेता भी ना सिर्फ ब्लोग करते हैं , वोह तो अपने पंखों से बात भी करते हैं। जीं हाँ , मैं आमिर खान की बात कर रही हूँ :) । क्या आप भी उनका ब्लोग पढना चाहेंगे ? तो यह रहा उनका ब्लोग एड्रेस :

http://www.lagaandvd.com/blog.php

:)

Tuesday, September 25, 2007

To fill or not to fill......

I was at this Shell Petrol pump on the Velachery Tambaram Road..( which is close to where I live ). They are supposed to have good standards of customer service .... Like they give you a nice vanakkam when you reach , ask you to switch off your engine and not use your cellphone. They ask the amount of petrol you wanna fill....then set the meter to zero - come back and reconfirm the amount of petrol etc....and this is routine at the petrol bunk. And from what I have heard - this is the standard in all Shell petrol pumps.

What I did not realise that the misplacing - or rather switching of credit card by the morons at the cash counters in shell is also very common till A told me about this post

http://prabhukrish.net/2007/08/06/shell-shocked/#more-1351

Check the responses to that post....

Now coming back to what happened to me - On Sunday when I filled gas at this station , they gave my card to another guy by mistake....and I kept waiting in my car for like 20 minutes ...there was no sign of the card coming back to me.....So i go to the counter and there also I get no response. It was almost another 15 minutes before I discovered that the morons had switched my card by mistake :( . And they were not even telling me that there was a problem till I screamed at them. I called the bank and cancelled my card. It will be another 10 days before I receive my card or my pin :(.

I had taken the number of the guy who runs the gas station - had called him and gave him a piece of my mind. He did manage to locate my card finally and give it back yesterday ...and as additional effort - gave me a bunch of orchids and a box of Lindt .

But despite all this , I do not think I will go back to that petrol pump again. Even if I do , I wont ever use my card there again. The indifference and the careless attitude of the people there shocks me :(

Wednesday, September 05, 2007

A place I wanna visit in Life :) - Cappadoccia , Turkey !


So long now.....

So much for having resolved to post everyday :)

I guess too much of work on a monthend does that to you. Besides friends to catch up with , work at home etc etc....

Anyways , till I think about what to blog on next , so long :)

Thursday, August 30, 2007

Traffic - Which way ?

Chennai roads were blocked this morning. Completely. No , not blocked by the police - blocked by traffic. I guess this was the worst traffic day Chennai had to see. Actually traffic's been bad since yesterday evening. I did ask a couple of people - looks like everyone's had a bad time.

It took me one hour and fifty minutes (Iam not exaggerating) to reach Alwarpet from Velachery . And I have this habit of reaching office really early ! Iam usually in office by 830 AM Max. I could not drive beyond gear 2 and I think I must have emptied atleast a litre of petrol in excess.

So I was trying to analyse the reasons for this traffic circus today :

  1. Vadapalani Temple Kumbabhishekham was scheduled for today. As we all know , the traffic in Vadapalani is pretty bad on normal days itself. Today , they had re routed the traffic on Vadapalani - Kodambakkam road - in effect congesting other roads
  2. Schools reopened today after a couple of days of holidays ( Onam , Varalakshmi Nombu etc). This added to the traffic
  3. Lot of traffic routes have been changed across the city. I think the morning papers carried the route diagrams as usual
  4. The number of traffic policemen on the road were less today
  5. The traffic signals were not working
  6. And above all , no one was being patient enough to listen to good old samaritans / policemen who were clearing the jams wherever they were :P

And these are the times when you should sit back , roll down the windows ( the weather is exceptionally pleasant in Chennai these days) , and turn up the volume and listen to your favorite songs which you dont get time to ! :)

Wednesday, August 29, 2007

Human Rights ?

Whatever happened to it , I wonder.

I was watching some of the news channels this morning. This issue caught my attention :

A jewel thief in Bhagalpur in Bihar caught red handed while attempting to snatch a woman's chain was mobbed by the public. The video footage showed images of the thief being beaten up by the public , flogged with a belt , later his hands tied , he was tied to a motorcycle which was driven by a policeman !!!

Catch more of it here : http://broadband.indiatimes.com/videoshow/2316913.cms

So the news channel went on to say that the National Human Rights Comission is investigating into the issue and that the thief is in hospital. The local political parties meanwhile ,have made this a political issue. I beleive two policemen have been suspended. The opposition has called this a communal issue. They are blaming Nitish Kumar for the incident.They have also brought out casteism into this - the thief was a muslim !!

By flashing the same video time and again on every news channel , Iam wondering what it is that they are trying to acheive. Ok , it was wrong that the Public and Police treated him that way. But for heaven's sake , this is Bihar and we are talking about someone who snatched a chain (Isnt that robbery? - Section 397 of IPC ?)

And in all this hullaboo - what happened to the robber ? Is he alive / dead ?

Weird world, truly !

Tuesday, August 28, 2007

SSDD

For those of you who dont know what that means - its "Same Sh*t , Different Day". Thats how the day was today.

Nothing much to post about anyway. But nevertheless have resolved to blog atleast once a day (Now lets see how far I get) except maybe on sundays :)

If there is anything interesting that happened , it was this single cake jinx up episode in office..... In my office, we have this habit of cutting a cake for someone's b'day. So today happened to be a fellow co-worker's bday. The cake arrives , we all gather and open the box - and guess what ? The cake has someone else's name on it...:)) Luckily the nomenclature was done in cream so it was easier to smudge the name off anyway .

If at all , I guess that gives you an idea how the day was ...... SSDD