Traffic - Which way ?
Chennai roads were blocked this morning. Completely. No , not blocked by the police - blocked by traffic. I guess this was the worst traffic day Chennai had to see. Actually traffic's been bad since yesterday evening. I did ask a couple of people - looks like everyone's had a bad time.It took me one hour and fifty minutes (Iam not exaggerating) to reach Alwarpet from Velachery . And I have this habit of reaching office really early ! Iam usually in office by 830 AM Max. I could not drive beyond gear 2 and I think I must have emptied atleast a litre of petrol in excess.
So I was trying to analyse the reasons for this traffic circus today :
- Vadapalani Temple Kumbabhishekham was scheduled for today. As we all know , the traffic in Vadapalani is pretty bad on normal days itself. Today , they had re routed the traffic on Vadapalani - Kodambakkam road - in effect congesting other roads
- Schools reopened today after a couple of days of holidays ( Onam , Varalakshmi Nombu etc). This added to the traffic
- Lot of traffic routes have been changed across the city. I think the morning papers carried the route diagrams as usual
- The number of traffic policemen on the road were less today
- The traffic signals were not working
- And above all , no one was being patient enough to listen to good old samaritans / policemen who were clearing the jams wherever they were :P
And these are the times when you should sit back , roll down the windows ( the weather is exceptionally pleasant in Chennai these days) , and turn up the volume and listen to your favorite songs which you dont get time to ! :)

0 Comments:
Post a Comment
<< Home